President Obama to Mayor James, “We’ll start with you, Sly.”

August 27, 2013 - KANSAS CITY, MISSOURI
Mayor James travels to the White House to tell President Obama and Attorney General Holder the story of youth violence in Kansas City

Today, Mayor James joined 17 other mayors in telling the story of youth violence in the nation’s communities to President Obama and Attorney General Holder.  President Obama asked Mayor James to begin the dialogue with Kansas City’s data, experiences, and programs.  “I was honored to be a part of this initial exchange of ideas,” said Mayor James.  “I’m looking forward to future conversations and learning about successful, data-driven programs that reduce violence in other cities.  Collaboration and information sharing will help us get closer to where we want to be – a peaceful, safe community.  Today’s visit with President Obama, Attorney General Holder, and my fellow mayors is a great start and I am confident the end result will help make Kansas City best”

In a press release from the White House, President Obama pledged his administration’s support to the mayors and vowed to, “continue doing everything in his power to combat gun violence through executive action and to press Congress to pass common-sense reforms like expanding the background check system and cracking down on gun trafficking.”

Other mayors in attendance at the White House meeting were:

•               Mayor Greg Ballard (Indianapolis, IN)

•               Mayor Tom Barrett (Milwaukee, WI)

•               Mayor Cory Booker (Newark, NJ)

•               Mayor Vincent Gray (Washington, DC)

•               Mayor Kevin Johnson (Sacramento, CA)

•               Mayor Mitch Landrieu (New Orleans, LA)

•               Mayor Mark Mallory (Cincinnati, OH)

•               Mayor Michael Nutter (Philadelphia, PA)

•               Mayor Annise Parker (Houston, TX)

•               Mayor Jean Quan (Oakland, CA)

•               Mayor Stephanie Rawlings-Blake (Baltimore, MD)

•               Mayor Kasim Reed (Atlanta, GA)

•               Mayor RT Rybak (Minneapolis, MN)

•               Mayor Francis Slay (St. Louis, MO)

•               Mayor Dayne Walling (Flint, MI)

•               Mayor Molly Ward (Hampton, VA)

•               Mayor AC Wharton (Memphis, TN)

This evening, Mayor James will also attend White House reception in honor of the 50th anniversary of the March on Washington.


Contact: Joni Wickham: 816-513-6582 or cell: 816-572-2152