Mayor James Announces Appointments to Youth Commission


Today, Mayor James announced his appointments to the Youth Commission, The Commission will provide the City’s policymakers with input that reflects the local youth perspective. Additionally, the group will represent Kansas City’s youth in public hearings and will serve in an advisory capacity on issues, not only related to youth, but also on issues that affect our community as a whole.

“Decisions we make today will impact the residents of this City for decades to come,” said Mayor Sly James.  “The Youth Commission will help us stay in touch with the pulse of our community’s youth.  After all, if they are going to inherit the outcome of our actions, then they should have a voice in our decisionmaking process.”

The Youth Commission will include eight youth who are high school juniors or seniors or who attend an undergraduate institution in the City.  Those members are:


Alyssa Boles – University of Missouri – Kansas City

Jacob Carpenter – Park Hill South

Grace Fleming – St. Teresa’s Academy

Nadica Garrett – Home Schooled/Longview Community College

Langston Gray – Rockhurst High School

Kareem Mahmud-Sanders – Hogan Preparatory Academy

Jacob Newstrom – University of Missouri – Kansas City

Queen Wilkes – Southwest High School/Longview Community College


Additionally, the Youth Commission will include five adults who are involved with youth-serving organizations.   Those members are:


Scott Cruce – Big Brothers and Big Sisters

Andrea Morales – Mattie Rhodes Center

Damon Daniel – Communities Creating Opportunities

Amanda Meyer – Kansas City YMCA

Jason Williams – Mary L. Kelly Center

The first meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, July 1st at 4 pm on the 10th floor of City Hall.  More commissioners may be added as the year progresses.

Contact: Joni Wickham: 816-513-6582 or cell: 816-572-2152