Missouri Mayors United for Progress Convenes in Jefferson City

February 14, 2018 - KANSAS CITY, MISSOURI

Group joined the Missouri Department of Transportation to urge state legislature to pass a primary seat and all driver prohibition on texting while driving

Jefferson City, MO – Mayor Sly James convened 50 and additional local government stakeholders from around the state of Missouri for a meeting of the Missouri Mayors United for Progress (MMUP) today, to discuss issues important to their municipalities.

“As mayors, we’re uniquely positioned to see the real impact of state legislation on Missourians,”
Mayor James said. “We formed Missouri Mayors United for Progress to join together and stand up to the dysfunction at the state level and demand more for our residents.”

MMUP is a bipartisan organization formed a year ago to promote policies and legislation that recognizes the importance of cities to the state economy. During the meeting on Wednesday, MMUP elected its first slate of officers: president – Mayor Sly James; vice president – Mayor Karen Best, Branson; treasurer – Mayor Tom Schneider, Florissant; secretary – Julie Smith, Webster Groves. The executive board will also include nonvoting members of the Missouri Municipal League and the St. Louis Metro League.

The group also joined the Missouri Department of Transportation (MODOT) to urge the Missouri legislature to pass a primary seat and all driver prohibition on texting while driving, as part of MODOT’s Buckle Up/Phone Down Campaign. Jefferson City Mayor Carrie Tergin raised the issue today with the support of fellow mayors Sly James, Ken McClure of Springfield, Tom Schneider of Florissant, and Jaylen Butner, a student at Boonville High School who survived a head-on crash because of his seat belt, emphasized strong bipartisan support for action at the state level.

“At least 13 bipartisan bills to combat distracted driving have been introduced this legislative session,” Mayor Tergin said. “And we’re hopeful this is the year to finally get a primary safety belt law on the books in Missouri, as well as enact legislation to stop texting and driving by drivers of all ages.”

Additionally, the group discussed other state legislation regarding low income housing tax credits (LIHTC), the statewide gas tax, infrastructure, and transportation development districts (TDD).

“We need stronger leadership out of Jefferson City to support funding for transportation in this state and we aren’t getting it,” Mayor Tom Schneider said.

The Women’s Foundation presented their efforts to increase female representation on boards and commissions through the Appointments Project, emphasizing the opportunity for partnership between Missouri cities and the Foundation, as demonstrated by their work with the City of Kansas City

Through our city’s partnership with the Women’s Foundation, we created the Appointments Project, which, since 2011, has increased the percentage of women on boards and commissions in Kansas City from 33% to 42%,” Mayor James said. “And, we just celebrated the Project’s 50th appointment.”

Mayors in attendance:

  • Mayor Debra Hickey – Battlefield
  • Mayor Karen Best – Branson
  • Mayor Christopher Thornton – Brentwood
  • Mayor Terry Briggs – Bridgeton
  • Mayor Bob Nation – Chesterfield
  • Mayor Norman McCourt – CIty of Black Jack
  • Mayor Jo Anne Smiley – City of Clarksville
  • Mayor Carrie Tergin – City of Jefferson
  • Mayor Lyndell Brenton – City of Liberty
  • Mayor Terry Epps – City of Pine Lawn
  • Mayor Ken McClure – City of Springfield
  • Mayor James McGee – City of Vinita Park
  • Mayor Barry Glantz – Creve Coeur
  • Mayor John Gwaltney – Edmundson
  • Mayor Thomas P. Schneider – Florissant
  • Mayor Leroy Benton – Fulton
  • Mayor R.D. Mallams – Gladstone
  • Mayor Debbie  Roach – Grant City
  • Mayor Dr. Robert Koerber – Hermann
  • Mayor William “Bill”  Kolas – Higginsville
  • Mayor Eileen Weir – Independence
  • Mayor Bob Lourwood – Ironton
  • Mayor Carrie Tergin – Jefferson City
  • Mayor Sly James – Kansas City
  • Mayor Thomas  Kirchner – Lohman
  • Mayor Pat Kelly – Municipal League Metro STL
  • Mayor John Olivarri – Osage Beach
  • Mayor Holly Stark – Peculiar
  • Mayor John Smedley – Platte Woods
  • Mayor David Slater – Pleasant Valley
  • Mayor T.R. Dudley – Potosi
  • Mayor Kathy Rose – Riverside
  • Mayor Ken McClure – Springfield
  • Mayor Bill Falkner – St. Joseph
  • Mayor Len  Pagano – St. Peters
  • Mayor Sandy Lucy – Washington
  • Mayor Patrick Botbyl – Weatherby Lake
  • Mayor Gerry Welch – Webster Groves
Contact: Laura Swinford's office: 816.513.6579